Name and Contact InformationFocus Area
David Bevan

David Bevan
Professor
201 Fralin Hall | 540-231-5040
drbevan@vt.eduStructure and dynamics of proteins and DNA; molecular modeling; computational biology

Dennis R. Dean
Dennis R. Dean
Professor
103 Fralin Hall | 540-231-5895
deandr@vt.edu Enzymology and molecular genetics of metallocluster biosynthesis; biological nitrogen fixation
Glenda Gillaspy
Dr. Glenda Gillaspy Professor and Head

Glenda Gillaspy
Professor and Department Head
542 Latham Hall | 540-231-1850
gillaspy@vt.eduGrowth control and signal transduction in plants

Richard Helm
Richard Helm
Associate Professor
143 Life Sciences I | 540-231-4088
helmrf@vt.edu Cell-cell communication in model systems; application of mass spectrometry to life sciences research
Peter J. Kennelly

Peter J. Kennelly
Professor
111C Engel Hall | 540-231-4317
pjkennel@vt.eduControl of cellular processes by protein phosphorylation-dephosphorylation; identification of new kinases and phosphatases; evolution of cellular control mechanisms

Michael Klemba
Michael Klemba
Associate Professor
306 Engel Hall | 540-231-5729
klemba@vt.edu Hemoglobin catabolism by the human malaria parasite, Plasmodium falciparum; protein trafficking to the food vacuole
Timothy J. Larson
Timothy J. Larson
Professor
202 Fralin Hall | 540-231-7060
tilarson@vt.edu Regulation of prokaryotic gene expression
Jianyong Li
Jianyong Li
Professor
204 Engel Hall | 540-231-1182
lij@vt.edu Structure-function relationships of proteins involved in tryptophan oxidation pathway in mosquitoes; biochemical mechanism of mosquito chorion formation and hardening
Zachary Mackey
Zachary Mackey
Assistant Professor
124 Engel Hall | 540-231-4970
mackeyzb@vt.edu Biological and Biochemical characterization of druggable targets in Trypanosoma brucei
Biswarup Mukhopadhyay

Biswarup Mukhopadhyay
Professor
123 Engel Hall | 540-231-8015
biswarup@vt.eduMethanogenic archaea

Daniel Slade
Daniel Slade
Assistant Professor
305 Engel Hall | 540-231-2842
dslade@vt.edu Determining the role of our microbiome in inflammation and cancer
Pablo Sobrado
Pablo Sobrado
Associate Professor
204 Fralin Hall | 540-231-9485
psobrado@vt.edu Mechanistic enzymology of redox enzymes and drugs discovery
Zhijian Tu
Zhijian (Jake) Tu
Professor
303 Fralin Hall | 540-231-8062
jaketu@vt.edu Mosquito sex determination and embryonic development: Mechanisms and applications
Robert White
Robert White
Associate Professor
103 Engel Hall | 540-231-6605
rhwhite@vt.edu Application of stable isotopes and mass spectrometry to biochemistry; biosynthesis and function of coenzymes; archaebacterial biochemistry; prebiotic chemistry
Bin Xu
Bin Xu
Assistant Professor
105 Engel Hall | 540-231-1449
binxu@vt.edu Receptor-ligand recognition, receptor signaling, novel receptor and therapeutic ligand discovery and engineering
Jinsong Zhu
Jinsong Zhu
Associate Professor
313 Engel Hall | 540-231-3841
zhujin@vt.edu Signal transduction and gene regulation in insects; genetic control of the mosquito defense reactions against malaria parasites