Kylie Allen

Kylie Allen
Assistant Professor
201 Fralin Hall | 540-231-5040
kdallen@vt.edu

Enzymology and molecular genetics in methanogenic archaea; radical SAM enzymes; biosynthesis of coenzymes and pterin-containing natural products

 

 

 


 

Dr. Dave Bevan

David Bevan
Professor
201 Fralin Hall | 540-231-5040
drbevan@vt.edu

Studies of protein structure, function, and dynamics using computational molecular modeling

 

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Anne Brown2

Anne Brown
Assistant Professor
Science Informatics Consultant & Health Analytics Coordinator
Research and Informatics
University Librarie
ambrown7@vt.edu

I collaborate with faculty and students on the integration of computational thinking, discipline-specific computational tools, and best data practices into their research labs and classrooms.  I also pursue my own research agenda involving molecular dynamics simulations and in silico drug discovery, targeting proteins involved in neurodegenerative                                             disease and working to better understand protein structure-function relationships. 

Dennis R. Dean

Dennis R. Dean
Professor
103 Fralin Hall | 540-231-5895
deandr@vt.edu

Enzymology and molecular genetics of metallocluster biosynthesis; biological nitrogen fixation

 

 

 

 

Endang Purwantini, Research Assistant Professor, Biochemistry.

Glenda Gillaspy

Glenda Gillaspy
Professor and Department Head
111C Engel Hall | 540-231-3062
gillaspy@vt.edu

Growth control and signal transduction in plants

 

 

 

 

Kristopher Hite

Kristopher Hite
Collegiate Assistant Professor
203A Engel Hall | 540-231-3477
kristopher@vt.edu

Chromatin architecture

 

 

 

Richard Helm

Richard Helm
Associate Professor
143 Life Sciences I | 540-231-4088
helmrf@vt.edu

Cell-cell communication in model systems; application of mass spectrometry to life sciences research

 

 

 

 

Brandon Jutras

Brandon L. Jutras
Assistant Professor
205 Engel Hall | 540-231-8431
bjutras@vt.edu

Cell biology of the Lyme disease bacterium Borrelia burgdorferi and the pathogenic properties of spirochetal peptidoglycan.

 

 

 

 

Peter J. Kennelly

Peter J. Kennelly
Professor
108 Engel Hall | 540-231-4317
pjkennel@vt.edu

Control of cellular processes by protein phosphorylation-dephosphorylation; identification of new kinases and phosphatases; evolution of cellular control mechanisms

 

 

 

Michael Klemba

Michael Klemba
Associate Professor
306 Engel Hall | 540-231-5729
klemba@vt.edu

Hemoglobin catabolism by the human malaria parasite, Plasmodium falciparum; protein trafficking to the food vacuole

 

 

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Chloe Lahondere

Chloe Lahondere
Research Assistant Professor
213 Engel Hall | 540-231-9487
lahonder@vt.edu

Impact of temperature on disease vector insect-host-pathogen interactions

 

 

 

David Lally, Biochemistry, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, CALS

David Lally

David Lally
Academic Support Advisor
106 Engel Hall | 540-231-9524
dlally@vt.edu

 

 

 

 

Tim Larson, BioC; Faculty Senate

Timothy J. Larson

Timothy J. Larson
Professor
202 Fralin Hall | 540-231-7060
tilarson@vt.edu

Regulation of prokaryotic gene expression

 

 

 

 

Justin Lemkul

Justin Lemkul
Assistant Professor
303 Engel Hall | 540-231-3129
jalemkul@vt.edu

Protein and nucleic acid simulations; conformational ensembles of disordered states; empirical force field development; computer-aided drug design

 

 

 

Jianyong Li

Jianyong Li
Professor
305 Engel Hall | 540-231-1182
lij@vt.edu

Structure-function relationships of proteins involved in tryptophan oxidation pathway in mosquitoes; biochemical mechanism of mosquito chorion formation and hardening

 

 

 

Zachary Mackey

Zachary Mackey
Assistant Professor
124 Engel Hall | 540-231-4970
mackeyzb@vt.edu

Biological and Biochemical characterization of druggable targets in Trypanosoma brucei

 

 

 

 

Sasha Marine

Sasha Marine
Collegiate Assistant Professor
542 Latham Hall | 540-231-1850
scmarine@vt.edu

 

 

 

Biswarupmukhopadhyay

Biswarup Mukhopadhyay
Professor
123 Engel Hall | 540-231-8015
biswarup@vt.edu

Methanogenic archaea

 

 

 

Katherine M. Phillips
Senior Research Scientist
304 Engel Hall |
kmpvpi@vt.edu

Chemical analysis of food composition related to health and disease

Endang Purwantini, Research Assistant Professor, Biochemistry.

Endang Purwantini

Endang Purwantini
Research Assistant Professor
119 Engel Hall | 540-231-4395
epurwant@vt.edu

 

 

 

 

Daniel Slade

Daniel Slade
Assistant Professor
207 Engel Hall | 540-231-2842
dslade@vt.edu

Determining the role of our microbiome in inflammation and cancer
 

 

 

 

Pablo Sobrado

Pablo Sobrado
Professor
204 Fralin Hall | 540-231-9485
psobrado@vt.edu

Mechanistic enzymology of redox enzymes and drugs discovery

 

 

Dorothea Berta Christine Tholl, Assistant Professor, Biological Sciences

Dorthea Tholl

Dorothea Tholl
Associate Professor, Department of Biological Sciences
409 Latham Hall | 540-231-4567
tholl@vt.edu

Biology, Functional Genomics, and Biochemistry of Chemical Communication

 

 

 

 

 

Jim Tokuhisa

James Tokuhisa
Professor of Practice
302 Fralin Hall | 540-231-0344
tokuhisa@vt.edu

 

 

 

 

 

Zhijian Tu

Zhijian (Jake) Tu
Professor
303 Fralin Hall | 540-231-8062
jaketu@vt.edu

Mosquito sex determination and embryonic development: Mechanisms and applications
 

 

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Clement Vinauger

Clement Vinauger
Assistant Professor
213 Engel Hall | 540-231-4443
vinauger@vt.edu

 

 

 

 

 

Robert White

Robert White
Associate Professor
103 Engel Hall | 540-231-6605
rhwhite@vt.edu

Application of stable isotopes and mass spectrometry to biochemistry; biosynthesis and function of oenzymes; archaebacterial biochemistry; prebiotic chemistry

 

 

 

Molly Wison

Molly Wilson
Academic Advisor
106 Engel Hall | 540-231-8734
mollywilson@vt.edu
 

 

 

 

 

 

Bin Xu

Bin Xu
Assistant Professor
105 Engel Hall | 540-231-1449
binxu@vt.edu

Receptor-ligand recognition, receptor signaling, novel receptor and therapeutic ligand discovery and engineering

 

 

 

 

Jinsong Zhu

Jinsong Zhu
Professor
313 Engel Hall | 540-231-3841
zhujin@vt.edu

Signal transduction and gene regulation in insects; genetic control of the mosquito defense reactions against malaria parasites